Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Username: Password:
Pages: [1] |   Go Down

Author Topic: Ponderings 6  (Read 1347 times)

Magispook

• Mod Team
Ponderings 6
« on: October 05, 2005, 08:24:48 PM »

Listen - One of my first bosses when I went into law enforcement, a man who I consider morally and ethically bankrupt, once passed on a gem during a training session that I have found to be quite rewarding.  He said: “Listen to what anyone says–they may have the piece of information you desperately need.  That person may be a bum, a pillar of the community, or a child.  Listen to what they say.”  The older agents in the training session simply did not get it or want to hear it.  Me, I was just out of the academy and full of p!ss and vinegar–eager to learn and use every technique.  I have always remembered those words.  Nowadays, I interview nice people for a living.  Very few criminals cross my path but I occasionally will interview one out of necessity.  I have found information comes easier when folks decide I’m really interested in what they have to say and so I really am interested in what they have to say.  Somehow, I manage to gain their confidence and often the person being interviewed concludes I should be the first one to hear what they have been wanting to say.  It might be that I present a “listening aura.”  It happened again today.  I interviewed a widow (widowed within the past year) and learned how her terminally ill husband passed his last days, how he underwent treatment, how he decided against further treatment, how he was diagnosed, how it affected their relationship, how he died at home with family in attendance.  It was cathartic for her.  It was educating to me. In terms of gain, we both gained. On the surface, it had nothing at all to do with my line of questioning for the interview but I can rationalize the entire listening session because it gave me an insight into the values and belief systems of the person being interviewed and how her