Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Username: Password:
Pages: [1] 2 |   Go Down

Author Topic: Geezerville 8  (Read 7861 times)

Magispook

• Mod Team
Geezerville 8
« on: August 02, 2009, 07:56:19 PM »

Perception - Just saw a segment on the news about a 65 year old guy studying for a new career in law enforcement.  He was in a class of obviously younger fellow students.  The situation caused me to remember something from years ago when I was a young agent full of pi$$ and vinegar going through a tactical course in the Philippines (jungle course).  We agents went through portions of a course with USAF security police.  I was around 32 years old at the time which was considered gettin' on in the years in terms of military demographics.  One of the cops was an old man--he was 35 which earned him designation as a grandpa.  We had to follow Filipino special forces guys over terrain at dusk at a rapid pace humping rucks and M-16s plus any other specialized gear.  Everyone was humping to include the mostly 19 year olds and us few geezers.  We got to the top of a mountain and the special forces guys had pity on us in that they allowed us a ten minute rest.  We agents were considered a novelty and folks liked to talk with us.  The 35 year old Viet Nam vet geezer confided to me that "I thought I was going to just drop going up that last hill but I wasn't going to let them young'uns see that so I just kept at it."  About five minutes later, one of the 19 year old young'uns confided in me that "I thought I was going to just drop going up that last hill but if that old guy could do it, I sure wasn't going to so I just kept at it."  As for me, I sure as blazes wasn't going to disgrace the agent  corps by dropping for all the young'uns to see and I sure as blazes wasn't going to drop out if that old geezer wasn't going to.  Machismo has its place, I guess.
Admit nothing.  Deny everything.  Make counter-allegations.

CountryLady

• OCH Founder
  • SW Virginia