Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Username: Password:
Pages: [1] |   Go Down

Author Topic: Ponderings 5  (Read 2374 times)

Magispook

Ponderings 5
« on: June 14, 2005, 08:38:13 AM »

Fractions of Seconds - I grew up with traditional Appalachian values. A man’s responsibilities are to his family, country, and Maker – it’s his choice on the order. We also have more mundane rules such as a man does not cry in public or “cuss” in polite company. These rules are sometimes forgiven such as a display of tears at a funeral where folks will politely look away. And there are some situations where the old Appalachian saying “it’s enough to make a preacher cuss” allow excuse. We try not to stray too far from these rules of engagement though. Essentially, I talk to people for a living. I have deadlines to do this talking and often they are inflexible so I sometimes have to be assertive or aggressive in order to get done what I’m required to do. This weekend, I had a requirement to talk with a young man quickly and I called ahead to arrange to talk with him on Sunday evening. I would be traveling a long distance to talk with him and others. The young man is in the military and I had to talk with him before he left to go overseas. He asked when I would arrive as he had planned a family outing well away from the area and would have to cut it short to meet with me. Our talk was important and, professional that he is, he was willing to come back early. I’m prior military and I can tell you that time with your loved ones, even fractions of seconds, is way more precious than gold when you are going to deploy. Those seconds are important not only to the military member but also so very important to the family. Fractions of seconds–keep that thought as I will come back to that in a few sentences. So I suggested we meet the following day and let my deadline slip. The following day, I met with him and we completed our business. Being retired military, I naturally asked him what